Yoga therapy

Yoga therapy is instruction in Yogic practices and teachings to prevent, reduce or alleviate structural, physiological, emotional and spiritual pain, suffering or limitations. In practice, measures commonly involve systematically using breath and movement to strengthen, stretch and stabilize the muscular-skeletal system, smooth and deepen respiratory rhythms, improve circulation, balance internal physiology and emotions and in general, target natural recuperative powers to specific systems of the body.

According to yoga philosophy, we are not just our physical body or mind, we are holistic, multi-dimensional beings made up by many different, interactive levels.

In the yoga framework, these levels are referred to as the five sheaths of our being, or the Five Koshas. To understand the Five Koshas and the role they play in yoga therapy, it's easiest to think of the Koshas as a series of Russian dolls, each embedded within the others. Starting from the outermost layer and moving towards the core, the Five Koshas proceed from outer to inner in greater and greater levels of subtlety:

Annamayakosha-The Physical body. This sheath represents the physical body, the 'regular' gross expression of our body that we can see, touch and feel. The Annamayakosha is our physical body, the most familiar aspect of our being. As we practice yoga asanas, the physical body is the starting point of our experience.

Pranamayakosha-The Energy body. According to yoga therapy traditions, this is the second layer of our being. Prana means energy, but not energy in the usual Western meaning of the word. Rather, prana is the life-force, the vital energy which flows through and enlivens all our physical systems. The breath is the most physical expression of prana, and prana is closely related to the breath. Breath awarenessand breathing practices, called pranayama, increase and facilitate the flow of prana in the body and balance the flow of the life force to all the physical systems.

Manamayakosha-The Mental-Emotional body. Manas means mind, and theManamayakosha is the layer of our being expressed as mind, emotions, and feelings. These are the mental faculties with which we absorb, process, and interpret input from our life (presented through the senses of the physical body). It is like a supervisor in a factory, which unfortunately often mistakenly takes on the role as manager.

Vijnanamayakosha-The Wisdom body. The fourth Kosha is considered part of the subtle body. Vijnana means knowing, and this sheath represents the higher mind, the faculty of wisdom, which lies underneath the processing, thinking, reactive mind. This is the level of our being, that has the higher wisdom to guide us through life and lead us to higher and higher levels of truth and integration. It represents the reflective aspects of our consciousness, which allow us to experience a deeper insight into ourselves and the world around us.

Anandamayakosha-The Bliss body.This is the fifth and final sheath of our being.Ananda means bliss, not bliss in the sense of emotions, such as happiness or pleasure, but an expanded, unbounded experience of reality. The ancients viewed the experience of the Bliss body as an experience of the deepest level of our being, an unbounded, blissful state of peace, joy, and love.

The therapeutic method in the panchakoshas will provide the well beings in every aspects of our life.

Yoga has proven beneficial in treating a variety of medical conditions, including heart disease, high blood pressure, breathing problems, asthma, musculoskeletal problems, stress-related illness and mood disorders. Yoga is also helpful in the management of pain, for improving respirator endurance and efficiency of breathing, for muscle strength, and for motor control. It helps prevent musculoskeletal problems and is beneficial for people with arthritis and those recovering from bone fractures.


Naturopathy is a scientific and holistic system of man building in harmony with constructive principles of nature and stimulating the body's inherent power to regain health and treating disease with the help of five great elements of nature.


Naturopathy system aims at 3 levels of intervention i.e., PREVENTIVE, PROMOTIVE and CURATIVE aspects of health in a view to prevent and cure diseases by removing their root cause and to promote and preserve the idea of positive health.

  • Treatment in Naturopathy is based on the concept of Panchamahabhutas - which form the basic constituents of the body.
  • These elements are used to revitalize and rejuvenate the body and strengthen the immune system against disease causing agents in and around us.
  • There is not a single thing on earth, which is not made out of these Panchamahabhutas. These Mahabhutas are found in nature as well as in human body.

  • Earth (Prithvi)
  • Water (Jal/Aap)
  • Fire (Tejas)
  • Air (Vayu)
  • Ether (Akash)
Aim of Naturopathic Treatment
  • Providing a suitable environment for the body to heal itself.
  • Enhancing the Capacity of Eliminatory organs.
  • Treating the root cause of the Disease.